Too Busy Not to Pray

So lately I’ve been reading that book, by Bill Hybels.
And I think he’s right.  A lot of times, when I pray, I really don’t believe that God who was (is) almighty in the OT, the God who parted the Red Sea, who fed 5000, who rose up people from the dead, who walked with the Israelites as a pillar of fire by night and a pillar of cloud by day…I don’t believe that he can truly change my circumstances.  I think I fall into the trap that Barney was talking about–that sometimes…I think that the power is in my hands, and that if I procrastinated, it’s my own fault and so I shouldn’t seek out God’s help.  It goes beyond procrastinating too, although procrastinating hits many areas of my life.  Including what I’m going to do with my future.  But it’s simply not true.  If I can say in that last entry that God cares about matters of the heart, about things as (perhaps) insignificant as Craisin, then obviously he cares about the big things….the MEIV things, the friend things, the future things, the family things, the school things, etc.

And the Devil is so good at turning our prayers into fluffy, artistic, shakespearean professions of whatever…of nonsense sometimes.  Using repetitive phrases that sound so flowery and so good…but at their heart, they’re simply empty words.  Like Bill Hybels was saying–we pray that “God will be with us”.  God is always with us, he always was with us, he always WILL be with us.  We don’t need to pray things like that–that’s like assuming that he’s not usually with us, and he’s only there when we ask him.  And that, my friends, is (as Stephen Colbert said…) bull-gogi.  That’s right, I went there.  That’s almost like an insult–like asking a friend if they’re going to realllly meet you for lunch even though you made plans with them just yesterday.  That’s like saying–promise me you won’t tell anyone my secrets?  To your best friend.  The assumptions behind what you’re saying…though they’re not readily apparent, prove that you don’t truly have faith in God and in the promises that he tells us.

He promises us that he’ll be there, he’ll never forsake us.
He promises us that everything we go through only serves to make us complete.
He promises us that he loves us.
He promises us that if we ask for forgiveness, we’ll receive it and it’ll be as far from him as the east is from the west.
He promises us that he wants to shower us with blessings.
He promises us that he listens to our prayers.
He promises us that he’ll be our comfort in times of sorrow or need.
He promises us that he’ll never change.
He promises us that he will always be strong, and that he’ll lift us us on wings like eagles.
He promises us that he made us just the way we are, that he knit us together in our mother’s womb, we were hand picked, custom made.
He promises us that we can do all things through him who gives us strength.
He promises us that whenever 2 or 3 gather in his name, he’s there.

Do I believe all of these?  Do I truly believe that the God of the Old Testament is still my God who can work miracles if I truly believe??  in a world today where so many things happen by the flip of a switch, or the click of a button, do I still rely on God?  If I can believe without a doubt that when I flip the switch, the light turns on, then why can’t I believe that God will miraculously intervene in whatever situation I really need him in?  not even that…but that his promises hold true simply because he is God…God of the universe?

and it’s true about journalling—thinking, praying in your head, contemplating in your mind…you can get distracted so easily. But journalling–writing sentences, watching words come out, you can’t lose your place.  You can’t forget what you were talking about or follow up on the song on the ipod, etc.  You’ve got it right down before you, and that’s why journalling is such a blessing.  not only that, but weeks, months, years later you can look back and see how God has met you, changed you, stretched you, and grown you through every circumstance.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

